SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have to install some parts first but eventually will hook up a boost gauge. Was wondering everyone's opinions or comments on what's better - mechanical or electrical gauge? Or is it preference? Company of good/durable gauge? Pods or mounting? I'm new to Volvo but I'm really liking my s40 :] I think she's a keeper!

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
If it's a keeper, pics or no help! :p lol

. . . I can't say I never got the time to order and install something . . .

edit:
oh and I did have this thread a while ago. It might be a start.
http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?169174-Boost-gauge-options

I never followed through a purchase... I will some time I hope.
I really dig Defi but so expensive and complicated...

I'm still not truly thrilled about integration setup I'v seen so far. Personally I'm still looking for a means to do a super clean integration.
That said it's not an easy job. There isn't a lot of options...

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
i like mechanical. their the easiest to hook up.

·
Super Moderator
2,989 Posts
Mechanical - you need to run the vac line all the way to the gauge in the passenger cabin. But they're the easiest to install, like Evol0 said. You may not even need any power if you decide not to illuminate the dial face. Vac line may be pinched/damaged during the long run into the cabin though, which will affect your reading.

Electrical - the vac line goes to the sensor which can be installed anywhere. Then the electrical data cable is run into the cabin where the display is. But then you need to run power lines for both of them. The data cable is a lot more robust than a hollow vac line.

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
You guys forgot to mention that mechanical will typically be more responsive and accurate over digital due to the sensor lag.