SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to shim my block to strengthen it up before I start adding more boost. I'm debating between doing it all my self of having someone else rip the head off for me to shim it. I'm a college student and commute to school so time isn't exactly on my side. I figure it would take between 20 -30 hours for tear down, shimming, and re assembly for me. That's a whole weekend of time I usually don't have. So if the price would be reasonable I'd probably be better off with someone else saving me the hassle. Anyone know of any body near central PA that does block shimming?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm sure Dougy would do it. He's all caught up, and is probably feeling very generous with his time right now, since he must be bored out of his mind.
Didn't know Dougy was in PA but yeah he'd be a great candidate to do it I'll have to pm him.

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The main issue is the teardown and reassembly time being a college student the only time I have is on weekends and usually then I'm working or doing homework. The shimming process is a 30 min job. That's why I was looking to maybe having someone else do it. I can easily handle the job it's just time. Maybe I'll wait till winter break and tear into it. I'm sure Dougy would be more then happy to help with some tips to speed the process up.

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well I may have overestimated the time to do this too looks like job can be done in a single day not too bad

·
Registered
7,612 Posts