SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Should I be concerned about taking my R to a car wash that (for lack of a better term) pulls your car through the wash along a track? I know you're not supposed to drag tow a AWD, and I was wondering if this same rule applied to this kind of car wash. Sorry but I'm new to the AWD scene.

·
Registered
2,697 Posts
It's fine. It's such a low speed and short distance that it's really inconsequential.

·
Registered
549 Posts
Are you not in neutral? If so I don't think there could be an issue....I could be wrong as I often am but I would think being in neutral would take away any stress on any part...again it's in neutral.

·
Registered
2,418 Posts
Well, if you pull up the E-brake one click, it's no longer AWD :)

Also, neutral bro.

·
Registered
2,418 Posts

·
Registered
3,758 Posts
If you do take it there make sure your wheels don't get eaten alive, I've seen posts of damaged pegs cause of automatic rail washers.

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
If you do take it there make sure your wheels don't get eaten alive, I've seen posts of damaged pegs cause of automatic rail washers.
Shoot. I didn't really realize that. My pegs look fine as of right now, and I've only auto washed once. Looks like I'll be hand washing my R from now on.

·
Registered
997 Posts
Shoot. I didn't really realize that. My pegs look fine as of right now, and I've only auto washed once. Looks like I'll be hand washing my R from now on.
you should be fine if its a newer wash that has a plastic rail. to be safe just hold the wheel to the inside of the rail, but not so much that you jump it lol.

·
Registered
586 Posts
you should not be using automatic car washes....hand wash FTW!!!