SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1,025 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Green thumb, yes. Green car? Depends how you define it<br>Gardening expert drives a Volvo S60 sedan in the belief it's more environmentally friendly than a hybrid<br>PETRINA GENTILE <p>April 2, 2009<p>He is Canada's gardening guru. You've likely seen him on Canada AM, heard him on Newstalk 1010 CFRB or read his countless best-selling gardening books.<p>Mark Cullen has deep roots in the horticultural business. He loves the land and is an environmentalist at heart. But on the streets, he doesn't drive a hybrid. He has a 2003 Volvo S60 sedan, which he describes as "the most environmentally responsible car on the road - hybrids are not."<p>"I'm not a big fan of hybrids. Number one, environmentally, there's a huge cost to building a hybrid car. Number 2, nobody has told me yet what they're going to do with the dead batteries - that's a concern to me.<p>"And I'm a highway driver, so a hybrid doesn't have the economical advantages to me as it would to an urban driver."<p>The Volvo, on the other hand, is a greener choice, according to Cullen. <p>"Volvo will tell you that 85 per cent of a Volvo car is recyclable and 95 per cent of it is recoverable. ...<p>"They say the factory where they build Volvos in Gothenburg uses 69 per cent of the energy consumption of its competitors. They use 100 vegetable-based components in the car and they use cotton for sound absorption, which is renewable," he reiterates from notes taken off the Volvo website.<p>The S60 is Cullen's fifth Volvo. <p>"Our Volvo adventure started in the early 1990s when my wife bought her first Volvo [Cross Country] wagon. We have four kids so we went through four Chrysler minivans when she finally said, 'I'm minivan-ed out! I want something different.' So we went shopping. <p>"Safety was the No. 1 priority for her at the time because she was still dragging kids around in the car. We ended up at Volvo a