SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to the caR scene and I am pretty stupid about auto self repair. In spite of that, and in spite of the SS warnings that these caRs are money pits. I bought an '04 SR MT last December with a shade over 50K miles. I had it checked out by two shops before I bought it and everything looked solid including the suspension. But in 8000 miles I've had my fair share of groaning and pops. Plus it has felt pretty goosey when I push it hard in the corners. A lot of side hop. A month or so ago I decided to refresh the suspension a bit (so I naively thought). I found a decent price on Eibach's and I also bought LCA's, ball joints and spring seats. Oh, and before I could have any of this work done, IPD had their big sale so I bought the track sways and endlinks. So I am already into a bunch of $$. Then... I took it to an indy to quote the price of install on all of the above. He showed me how bad my front struts were leaking. He suggested that what I really needed to do is replace the struts. All around. He thought I should do only struts and I would be happy. But I already have all the other components. So...I am essentially all in now. I bit hard and ordered a full round of 4C's from Rock Auto. I decided if I am going to do this, I will make sure that I get everything set in one full swing to minimize my shop cost. (I know, weird to say after I have spent so much on parts)