SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a bit of a situation and decision to make. Long story short, went camping last weekend and on the way back back home the engine started misfiring. Checked it out the next day and found cylinder 2 has no compression. No exhaust gases coming out of oil filler so a burnt valve is suspected. The engine has 192k on it.

Got a quote from the local dealer for about 5k with a used engine with 39k on it that they found at a local reputable scrap yard. I can buy the same engine for about $500 but it has a broken oil pan, intake, and timing cover. Has anyone here replaced their engine on their own? I was an auto tech for about 8 years and have replaced several engines so I'm no stranger but I'd like to know what I'd be getting myself into. Also, I have since moved on from auto mechanics so don't have every day use of a hoist. I may be able to use one for a weekend though.

·
Registered
275 Posts
someone like ProlixArgon would probably be your best bet to communicate with directly.

I would personally want to know first if the electronics would all work out properly.

·
Registered
2,876 Posts
I wouldn't trust an engine with a broken timing cover. Timing cover being damaged also means the gear casing going to the alternator is probably also compromised and that's another can of worms.

I've not seen one of these engines burn a valve, but the average miles are increasing, so I'm not surprised to hear it's happened.

With as many of these engines that are available, I wouldn't bother getting one that's already damaged to try and save costs. Having to source the alternator gear casing along would negate costs. There are a lot of these engines available!