SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If not one for the radiator, like two smaller, more powerful combo or I was thinking something like a custom made, 4 small fans in an aluminum housing installed on top of a frontmount intercooler like the spot others have put their transcoolers...also wondering if it's even worth it lol shouldn't be too hard to create though!

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,367 Posts
Why? It will add restriction. OEM fan is very capable. Unless you are spending a lot of time flogging the car at low speed I see no reason to do this. If you want to help cooling on the R, cut some vents in the hood or elsewhere to duct the air out better. It's a cramped engine bay and would benefit from better air extraction. I develop automotive thermal systems for a living by the way so not coming from left field.

·
Registered
868 Posts
OEM fan is very capable.
I agree. The factory fan keeps my coolant temps right where they should be even during the blistering hot summer months. 13 Phoenix summers to date with no overheating issues and the AC blows cold as ever.

IMG_1846.jpg

·
Registered
590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Why? It will add restriction. OEM fan is very capable. Unless you are spending a lot of time flogging the car at low speed I see no reason to do this. If you want to help cooling on the R, cut some vents in the hood or elsewhere to duct the air out better. It's a cramped engine bay and would benefit from better air extraction. I develop automotive thermal systems for a living by the way so not coming from left field.