SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any S40/V50 owners find a wiring harness for your OEM stereo deck for aftermarket subs?

I've searched the archives using keywords 'sub' 'harness', etc. and nada. I know there's gotta be tons of you 2004.5 to present S40 owners that have installed aftermarket subs, yes? I have an '08 C30 and over on C30World all the guys that have installed a sub haven't been able to find a wiring harness for the deck so they've had to splice into existing speaker wire in order to tie it in and apparently that won't result in the highest quality sound quality (at least not as good as a deck wire harness would do). <p>Doing a Google search for 'S40 stereo wire harness' netted a lot of hits, for example:<p><A HREF="http://www.diguniverse.com/MOBILE-AV/12-VOLT-CAR-STEREO/SISVO04B.html" TARGET="_blank">http://www.diguniverse.com/MOB....html</A><p>(But caveat this one says 'for 2000 and up', but every other Google search only results 'for 2000 through 2004 S40', so my hunch tells me this seller is wrong and it will only fit 2000 through 2004)<p>Not sure if this one is actually sub wiring harness - not clear from ad:<p><A HREF="http://vparts.dealerfit.com/store/volvo-s40-v40-v50-subwoofer-wiring-prod126_12019.php" TARGET="_blank">http://vparts.dealerfit.com/st...9.php</A><p>These harnesses came up on Crutchfield when I did a search for '2008 S40', so they must work for late model S40s, right?<p><A HREF="http://www.crutchfield.com/g_183150/Powered-Sub-Wiring-Harnesses.html?tp=3045" TARGET="_blank">http://www.crutchfield.com/g_1...=3045</A><p>So my question(s) are:<p>1. First of all I'm pretty certain late model S40s and C30s share the same OEM stereo deck, correct?<p>2. If yes, has any S40 owner out there installed an aftermarket sub <I>and</I> you were able to locate a stereo deck wire harness to tie it into the deck?<p>3. If answer to question #3 a resounding 'Yes!', can you <U>paaallleeze</U> post a link to the wiring harness you used!<p>A thousand thanks in advance! <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"> <br>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,887 Posts
Re: Any S40/V50 owners find a wiring harness for your OEM stereo deck f ... (raoulduke)

From the threads I read in the past it sounds like everyone just tapped into a rear speaker and says it works fine (as compared to not having a sub). I bought the OEM sub to use in my car as I would like the control through the headunit, but found a previous owner has cut up my wires in the trunk so I can't connect the sub right. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/mad.gif" BORDER="0"> So I am now selling my OEM sub and going to look into the same thing you are asking: I am subscribing to this thread in hopes that you get some good info. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/smile.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,310 Posts
I don't know how similar your stereo is behind the scenes, but I have premium audio and there's a harness of speaker wires plugged into the amp in the trunk (left side, rear of the tire well, as you look into trunk). <p>Splicing into the wires will be no different quality-wise than a harness that plugs in-line with the factory harness unless you screw up a connection. <p>I can post a wiring diagram for that connector tonight or this weekend (I'm at work now). In the mean time, pull your trunk liner and find your amp if you're ready to get this done. There's also a power signal at the amp to run to your amp's remote turn-on. I'll post that up, too. I took pics when I was in there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: Any S40/V50 owners find a wiring harness for your OEM stereo deck f ... (carreragt7)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>carreragt7</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">From the threads I read in the past it sounds like everyone just tapped into a rear speaker and says it works fine (as compared to not having a sub).</TD></TR></TABLE><p>Really? Damn that's disappointing to hear. I mean the S40 is a popular enough car and the current model been around long enough that I'd think <I>some manufacturer</I> would've made a sub wire harness for the OEM deck by now, ya know?? <p>Well if we don't hear anything definitive out of this thread I guess I'll have to go with my original 'Plan B' and take my C30 to a couple car stereo shops and see what they know and I'll report back...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Re: (mattdoc)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>mattdoc</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I can post a wiring diagram for that connector tonight or this weekend...There's also a power signal at the amp to run to your amp's remote turn-on. I'll post that up, too. I took pics when I was in there.</TD></TR></TABLE><p>Nice thanks in advance Matt! I have the premium audio in my C30 as well so I'm betting they're the same. I look forward to seeing those pics later! Thanks again!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,887 Posts
Re: (raoulduke)

I'd be super interested if someone with Premium sound can take a picture of the connectors in the trunk. I have all the wiring from the sub to the car, but the wires from the car had its connector cut off so I have no idea what the connector looks like and if it is possible to purchase somewhere so I can use my OEM sub...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
542 Posts
Re: (carreragt7)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>carreragt7</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I'd be super interested if someone with Premium sound can take a picture of the connectors in the trunk. I have all the wiring from the sub to the car, but the wires from the car had its connector cut off so I have no idea what the connector looks like and if it is possible to purchase somewhere so I can use my OEM sub...</TD></TR></TABLE><p>Ill snap a shot of this when I do my brakes next week.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,114 Posts
Re:

Most higher end cars have to require tapping the rear speaker wires and installing the high/low converter to run some subs. Thats where the factory sub is kinda nice and just plugs in via the fiber optic. Problem is i havent heard it or tried it out enough to determine whether its worth it or to just get a 10" kicker or something.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,887 Posts
Re: Re: (ForceFed Motorsports)

Good news for me, just had a buddy who is into this kind of stuff take a look at my car, and he says the wiring from the previous owner's aftermarket sub is still good (and decent quality 4 gauge) and that all I need is the amp and sub to plug into it all and I am already completely set up for aftermarket. He also said if I can find one of those plug/connectors he can rewire it so I can get the OEM sub to work. Now I just have to find where to get that connector...<br>On a side note, he also got my neon green LED lights that are under the dash and front seats (shine on the rear passengers foot area) working. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"> I suck with the electrical stuff so they have been sitting inoperable for the past 8 months.<p>If I can get my oem one to work I think it is the best setup for someone who isn't looking to win any sound system competitions but a nice setup for a daily driver without killing trunk space. Otherwise, I'll have to go aftermarket.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Re: Re: (ForceFed Motorsports)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>ForceFed Motorsports</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Thats where the factory sub is kinda nice and just plugs in via the fiber optic.</TD></TR></TABLE><p>Where does the OEM sub store in the S40? Where does it tie into this 'fiber optic' connection you mention? Into the deck? Thx.<p>Edit. Nevermind. I found this response from carreragt7 on another thread:<p><TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>carreragt7</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">It goes in the trunk under the floor. It is my favorite setup because it doesn't really take up that much more space, especially if you are AWD. The sub retails for $500+, and the wiring kits $50 each, and the foam floor supports $50+. You will need to go to the dealer for the software download so you can control the sub from your stock head unit. That is one of the main reasons I wanted this over an aftermarket one, it is super easy to control and it doesn't take up my precious trunk space. It's like an undercover sub. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/wink.gif" BORDER="0"></TD></TR></TABLE><p>Yeah as nice as it might be to have the OEM sub tie into the head unit, etc., no way no how I'm spending "$500+" for bass, so looks like it's back to the drawing board for me...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,114 Posts
Re: Re: (raoulduke)

Tally up how much you will spend on a sub, box, amp, install, wiring, and converter and i think you will find the 500$ for the factory sub to be quite fair lol. Just isnt going to pound your windows like a big setup. It does sound fairly good if i remember. I have premium sound and i can feel the bass hit in my seats so our sound systems are pretty good to start, factory sub just bumps it up to another level. Still not going to be anything insane but would be pretty good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,887 Posts
Re: Re: (ForceFed Motorsports)

But $500 is on the lower end for the sub, everything you need takes ya to around $800 or so, unless you have a discount like Kyle. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/wink.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,114 Posts
Re: Re: (carreragt7)

Si senior, otherwise yeah id be looking into other options like the rest. The labor is what kills. Bout 900$ all said and done <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/eek.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,310 Posts
Re: Any S40/V50 owners find a wiring harness for your OEM stereo deck f ... (raoulduke)

<IMG SRC="http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc5/mattdocs40/P4250046.jpg" BORDER="0"> <p>From far to near - <br>fiber optic (black connector)<br>power (gray)<br>empty - sub?<br>speaker outputs (green)<p><br><IMG SRC="http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc5/mattdocs40/P4250047.jpg" BORDER="0"><p><IMG SRC="http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc5/mattdocs40/P5170011.jpg" BORDER="0"><p><IMG SRC="http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc5/mattdocs40/P5170012.jpg" BORDER="0"><BR><BR>
<i>Modified by mattdoc at 1:34 PM 6-13-2009</i>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,310 Posts
Re: Any S40/V50 owners find a wiring harness for your OEM stereo deck f ... (raoulduke)

From top to bottom,<br>center<br>right rear<br>right front<br>left rear<br>left front<p>wh-rd means white wire with red stripe<p><IMG SRC="http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc5/mattdocs40/ampwires.png" BORDER="0"><p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,887 Posts
Anyone know what this chord is for? It is the opposite of the one that my car doesn't seem to have anymore.<br><IMG SRC="http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs113.snc1/4833_90385089441_775614441_1896442_4907664_n.jpg" BORDER="0"><br><IMG SRC="http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs113.snc1/4833_90385094441_775614441_1896443_6901186_n.jpg" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,310 Posts
Re: (carreragt7)

I don't know what that looks like it might go to, but from this diagram (below), it appears that the amp (AUD) gets a wire/harness from the same harness the SUB module gets one from. 16/107 is listed as "MEDIA PLAYER MODULE" (MPM). 16/1 is the ICM "INFOTAINMENT CONTROL MODULE." <p>I plan to strip my trunk again in the next few days to splice a harness in-line with all my speaker wires, so I'll look for the sub stuff then. If you can pose some specific questions of what to look for, such as this connector you pictured, I'll keep an eye out. I'm adding the harness in to have a disconnect available between the amp and speakers (i.e. when I want to set my sub amp gain) and to have outputs on all 10 wires for aftermarket amp inputs. <p><br><IMG SRC="http://i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc5/mattdocs40/sub.png" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,887 Posts
Re: (mattdoc)

I am trying to find out if anyone knows anything about that chord. The one I have pictured is part of the sub connectors, but I don't have the opposite connector in my car wiring in the trunk, I think it got cut out by the previous owner, and it is the only thing holding me back from getting the oem sub installed on my car. I just don't want to get the software download and find it doesn't work right...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
953 Posts
Long thread. I don't feel like reading it all. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"><p>Anyone mention or look into the JL cleansweep? I think it would do the job here, and some other things.
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top