SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a new CO resident I've been loving the ability to slip and slide though appropriate places to do so are bit limited in my neck of the woods.

For that reason I'm interested in a little competitive ice fun on a wide open closed course and ice racing certainly fits the bill.

For that reason the following event has caught my eye and I'm thinking about attending their late January event.

Are any of my fellow R members interested in joining me and making this a group R event? :cool:

http://ourgangiceracing.com/

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
I don't have an R but that looks awesome. Most of my winter fun is delegated to finding big, empty parking lots to slide around in. Luckily I found a community college in Lakewood earlier this month whose lot was completely empty and snow-covered.

Do you need studded tires to race?

·
Registered
8,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I too have a state college nearby with about the only suitable parking lots that allow me to hone my snow donut skills, then again they also have campus security so I use it quite frugally, lol.

And studs are not required, they have different race groups, the bare rubber class being one of them.

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
Awesome! I'm down to go up one day- if not for a race day, definitely for their fun days. Looks like Georgetown is only an ~hour away from Golden too!

I just read over their website and it sounds like some people race on all-seasons- though I imagine jeep AT tires have better bite than my 1/2 worn Coopers. Time to start shopping Craigslist for winter wheels/tires...I just wish the 5x108 bolt pattern was more common.

·
Registered
8,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
A lot closer than me, I'm over 3 hours away, weather permitting.

Found a good vid of someone running the course with bare rubber while looking for stuff on youtube, certainly looks like my kind of fun . . .