SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The dealer want ~$1,500 to install a hitch, wiring module and update the software. U haul says they will install a hitch and hook up the lights for less than $300. Anyone had Uhaul or other independent install a hitch and wiring? Any issues? Why would it require new software?
Any insight and suggestions appreciated.

·
Registered
3,269 Posts
lol.. ask volvo if that includes trailer hitch fluid.. and how long they need you to bend over.

·
Registered
1,388 Posts
I bought a Curt trailer hitch off of ebay, and a wiring kit off of ebay.

Granted, I have some experience around a car (lol) but it only took me 20 minutes to install the hitch with basic hand tools.

The wiring kit was a universal, and I was having some issues with it (I thought) turns out when I took the light holders out, I loosened up a bulb a little bit, so now it doesn't want to stay seated. Total time to install (including tracing down wiring and making it all look factory installed) was about 45 minutes.

I think my total on all of it was about $180. And an hour of my time.

There's a pic with it on.

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
Aftermarket hitch looks like crap.

The reason I went with Oem is because only the receiver part is visible. $300 or so shipped to my door for the hitch. 24$ for Universal trailer wiring. Took about 2hrs to install the hitch because Oem requires removal of the bumper.

I have seen an aftermarket hitch on an R and it looks terrible, all the metal is exposed under the car.

I realize I payed a premium for the looks but I just cant stand the look of the hitch visible on the R(I would go aftermarket on any other car), and Im too lazy to remove/install the aftermarket hitch everytime I wanted to tow.

·
Registered
1,388 Posts

·
Registered
3,269 Posts
I'd hate to have to put a trailer hitch on the R. Id feel ****ty doing that to my baby.

·
Registered
1,075 Posts