SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
556 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys,

I've had my S60R since 2008 & while the car has served me well over the years, the lack of a native bluetooth option became unbearable. I had been using a GROM unit since around 2014, but there were just too many problems with it, such as a persistent echo heard by callers when making calls, random "CD-Error" messages, my iPhone not reliably connecting to it because the unit would shut off while cranking the engine, causing the connection to drop. Finally, even when the GROM works, it's inherently flawed by the fact that the HU-850 is unaware of it. If you're listening to an audio-book via Bluetooth, then toggle over to radio, the audio-book will continue to play & you'll lose your place. Not to mention, I found myself fumbling with my phone way too much, to do simple tasks like navigate to a new destination. Not good.

Ultimately, I got so fed up with the GROM unit that I made an ultimatum to myself: either I would get a new unit that didn't suck, or I would just sell the S60R and buy a new car with a radio that doesn't suck. I figured that if a top-of-the-line unit prevented me from buying a new car anytime soon, it would be worth the money, so ultimately I settled on the Alpine Halo9 with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

Here's a photo of my Halo9 installed, which I thought was nice because it "floats" like a lot of the newer OEM units, and looks a lot less bootleg than your typical double-DIN head unit:

I also liked that due to being oversized, it would cover up the cubby/cup-holder, which I'd be losing by going to an aftermarket radio, since no one makes a DIN adapter that supports the cubby. I figure that makes the radio look slightly less bootleg. Ultimately my goal here was to satisfy my inner desire for an OEM-looking option that has modern features, without having to buy a new car.