SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm finally getting around to the performance upgrades portion of my 2007 V50 T5 AWD!

Since I am new at most of this, I have some questions regarding air intakes.

After doing some reading Between the

* CCI PRe-MAF Intake
* K&N Typhoon and,
* Elevate's Pre-MAF intake
* Injen SP

Which of these offers the best performance on a stock vehicle?

Is this subjective?

I currently have the K&N filter at the top of my list, but with it being an oiled filter, would this affect me at all other than regular maintenance?

Are PRE-MAF Intake kits fine to use without the complete tubing, considering cost?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,741 Posts
If by pre-maf kits you mean just running an open cone filter this will actually lower your peak performance as heat soak sets in however you may feel a slight increase in torque as well as the turbo sound from having an open filter. That being said, this topic has been debated and i think the conclusion was running a larger intake tube with the stock air box is actually the best route as you still have a true cold air intake and not just an open filter sucking in hot air. Another reason the tubing should be changed is there is a honeycomb still filter in your stick intake tube near the turbo side which restricts airflow as well, this can be removed if you really want to keep the stock pipe.

I would recommend staying away from K&N filters, tubing fine but not filters, the oil in them is concerning and all the oil filters ive used have looked noticeably more ruined after the same amount of use - they just seem like a cheap product.