SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tried to take advantage of Black Friday this year and badly needed a new head unit and speakers for my '02 N/A V70. So, I purchased this Pioneer head unit/speaker combo as crutchfield.com stated they would fit.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Pioneer-C...-6.5-Speakers-and-Two-6-x-9-Speakers/46272105

I'm new to Volvos and have never installed a head unit/speakers before so forgive me if these are stupid questions. From the research I've done, this head unit should wire up easily and installation shouldn't be a problem at all, but somebody please correct me if I'm wrong. I already ordered the Single-Din center dash cover as well as the pocket for the bottom half so hopefully all should be ready for installation regarding the head unit.

But my main concern is the speakers. Will these fit? From the research I've done so far, the 6.5" speakers should fit just fine in the front, (I'll be using this guide, post #81 http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?115765-My-next-project-01-V70-T5M/page3) but I just now read that 6x9 is NOT the stock speaker size for the rear doors. Is it still possible to install these speakers anywhere else, or perhaps is there a way to get them to fit somehow in the rear doors? Somebody told me that 6x9 speakers will fit on the rear decklid but I didn't even think that my volvo had speakers back there and I'm unfortunately away from the car at the moment and am unable to check.

If anybody could help me with this, I would greatly appreciate it. Hopefully I'm posting this in the right place. Thanks!

·
Registered
7,614 Posts