SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am appealing to you for some wisdom and practical advice.

Long story short, life got hard in 2014 when my mother passed away, and then got really hard when my mentally ill sister became my responsibility. No violins, no plea for sympathy, it was hard, I got through it, and now I would like some sound advice without too much judgmental criticism, pretty please...

I have a 98 V70 T5A with 275k miles (or about that) and a 99 V70 T5M with around the same miles, and they have both been sitting around since 2016. They both needed some mechanical love at the time, and when the family situation got intense, they got ignored.

I can't find the records for what they needed, but let's say they both leak oil, and probably would need new tires from all the sitting. And let's establish that I can wash a car like nobody's business, but I'm not a mechanic, and won't pretend that's my skill set. I know I don't need blinker fluid, it's not all that bad ;)

This is my favorite body style of V70, but I can't see myself fixing these girls up for road readiness without winning a smallish lottery (still taking care of sister). They are in good shape as far as body, interiors, suspension, but they are not getting prettier sitting in the yard either.

Part of me wants to sell them as parts cars, even though I *think* they are fixable. Part of me wants to just give them to anyone who knows how to fix them so they can get back on the road again. I could always just keep them a bit longer, but why? I don't know if they have ANY value while not running, so I'm not looking for pricing advice.

So, would you treat them as parts cars? Or donate to someone who can fix them? Or, some third option I haven't considered? I know, a lot depends on what they need, but with their higher miles, I'm guessing any oil leak issues are not solved simply or cheaply.