SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm at 90k and in dire need to replace the shocks and struts. I'm pretty much bouncing on the springs right now.

I've looked through the similar threads and decided on the bilstein HD's. Being a poor college student, I was looking for OEM's but friends dissuaded me and told me to bite the cash since I'll be commuting about 80km each way on interstate and secondary roads this semester.

Should I replace the strut mounts and bearings as well for front and rear? Anything else? I don't remember, but I think when I purchased the car from factory, I got the sport springs if that makes a difference..

I found the set of 4 for the Bilsteins on Shox.com for $704 while shockswarehouse.com has the same listed for 818. Is there a difference for parts or just someone is making a quick 100 bucks..

2007 V50 T5 AWD

·
Registered
4,373 Posts
The HDs should be a good match for your setup. Shox.com is a great place to work with. I would recommend replacing the mounts & bearings in the front you mentioned. You could save some money & skip the rears. If you find the rear mount to be bad it's no big deal to replace later. Very easy, as difficult as the front is the rear is simple.

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
I just did mine on a FWD, the SP version though.

If you go with Bilstein you might want to look into the bump stop and see if you can get something that fits prior hand. I was not aware and was surprised the shock diameter was much bigger. I ended up cutting the bump stop shorter but that is NOT a great solution! I don't know if other after market struts have the same issue...

Feel free to ask me questions as well when the time comes. I have the greatest trick to easily put the new struts into the knuckle without struggle. :D

·
Registered
4,373 Posts