SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a v70r with 210,000 miles on it an today I noticed fluid leaking from under the car. It's on the drivers side around the turbo area. Looks like it might have a red tint to it. Any ideas thanks for the help

·
Registered
2,125 Posts
Power steering fluid can have a red tint. Check the boots on the rack which are on the inner tie rods. See if there is anything dripping from there.

·
Registered
11,628 Posts
Agreed, power steering is leaking. Clean the area near where you think the leak is coming from and inspect after few days to better see the leak.

Transmission fluid can also be reddish (when new) but usually looks brown after a ton of miles.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm new to the Volvo scene but it looks like its coming from a unit at the end of the tie rod. Also a few questions. What type of power steering fluid should I be using? Why does my oil have a white sludge on the dipstick (is it coolant)? And why does it seem like there is no off the line power kinda like its starting off in 3rd or something. Lol sorry for all the questions just want to fix these problems.

·
Registered
160 Posts
98 v70r's use regular ATF in the power steering, which is red which is what you are leaking. a somewhat "common" issue is the outer seals in the power steering rack, which needs to be replaced. I just did one on my car, not fun.

As far as i can comment on the off the line power, I believe there is some type of boost limiter in 1st gear to go easier on the transmission from the factory

cant really comment on the oil without seeing it

·
Registered
11,628 Posts
Why does my oil have a white sludge on the dipstick (is it coolant)?
Could be a coolant leak or just a dirty ol'motor. Change the oil, perform a SeaFoam treatment, check the PCV and go from there.

·
Registered
2,238 Posts