SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to this. I recently bought an old 164e. It needs a new fuel pump. I am trying to figure out where that is. It looks like it's in a little housing right next to the fuel tank in the back of the car. It is showing no signs of wanting to come out. Has anyone replaced one of these and can toss a few pointers over?

·
Registered
2,568 Posts
I don't know about the 164E; but, on the 142E the pump sits in a 'box' that is mounted (actually hung) along the body channel on the right side of the gas tank. There are mounting bolts that go through tabs at the front and the back of the box. At the front, the bolt goes up into the body channel. At the back of the box, the bolt goes up into the area beside the tank. You will need to pull up the floor of the trunk to get access to the retaining nut on the back mounting bolt, otherwise when you try to loosen the retaining bolt it just turns; but does not actually loosen. On the front mounting bolt where is goes into the body channel, I can't remember what the stock retaining nut arrangement is / was. I now have a 5/16 " nutsert in that hole because the original retainer was unsatisfactory.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Hello becketschroeder,