SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the Volvo scene and just aquired a 1992 240 (110k). What sort of performance mods are there for the engine (b230....???)? It is an auto. Oh and by the way, I can get some 240 Turbo wheels for $15.00 each. Is this a good deal? And can a turbo set up from an earlier car fit up to an engine like mine (do the exhaust ports on the heads match up)? Sorry for the random questions......this stuff's been on my mind! Thanks!!!

socalsean

·
Premium Member
6,997 Posts
Re: 240 Power Mods (socalsean)

That's a nice deal on the wheels.

You could do a cam, adjustable cam gear, exhaust etc. but that won't give you huge gains.

As for the turbo, it'd probably be easier and less work to just swap in a turbocharged motor.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: 240 Power Mods ([email protected])

Whats involved in swapping a turbo motor into this car? DO custom mounts need to be made? And adapting the engine computer to the one in my car....how is that accomplished? Thanks again!

socalsean

ps...maybe you could suggest some website for me to gaze at.

·
Registered
2,331 Posts

Adding a turbo to your engine is a lot of work, but can be done using parts salvaged from a junkyard from the 240 Turbo, and 700 and 900 series Turbo. It requires a turbo, exh. manifold, oil/water lines, oil cooler, trans cooler (and maybe trans since you have the AW70), downpipe, exhaust, injectors, FPR, ECU, AMM (if you use a different LH injection), wiring harness, airbox, intercooler kit, ignitions parts (adjust timing w/boost), and some other stuff. You also need to add an oil return to the oil pan, or to the block if you pull the engine (block drain is preferred over the pan).