SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
2112 s60 brakes groaning (edit: actually 2012)

Been loving my s60 T6 for a year now. The last few months, my brakes will periodically "groan" right before the car stops. No squeal during when brakes applied, just a groan as the wheels stop rotating. Seems to happen randomly with no regard to temperature, time of day, cold car, warmed up car.

I've been to my local dealership twice. The first time they said it was a buildup of brake dust on the rotors. The second time, they sprayed a brake lubricant on the pads, and made some generic statement like "those brakes have known issues" and implied that I would have to live with it.

Anyone else had this issue? Any resolve?

I'm new to Volvo, so I'm not sure at what point I should start asking for parts to be replaced.

Also feel I should mention, that this the best car on the planet.

Thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
MagoonR - yes, I dig Rush, but sadly, it was just a typo.

I sure hope folks get that I DID NOT travel 100 years into the future and purchase a S60 with groaning brakes. I do, however, feel comfortable in saying that if the next owner of my 2012 S60 takes good care of it, there should be no problem driving it to a Volvo dealer in 2112 for an oil change and tire rotation....

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
What the hell is the dealer doing to your brakes??? Brake lubricant???