SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I'm new to Volvo and to this forum so bear with me please. Am in the market for a new compact luxury SUV type vehicle and so far, the ones that rise to the top are the XC60 and BMW X3.
I'm really leaning towards the XC60 based on style, standard features, safety, reviews, etc. However, I keep going back and forth between the T5 or T6 Momentum and the Recharge T8.
As I am retired, the bulk of my driving is for pleasure and performing the usual daily errands within a radius of between 5 and 25 miles. This vehicle would also be used occasionally for longer
road trips. I'm also aware of the Federal Tax Credit of $5400 for the Recharge model. Probably should be mentioned that I am not looking to add a bunch of options/packages to either
vehicle since the base models appear so well equipped.

One aspect that does concern me is the inherent complexity of a turbo and supercharged engine along with a battery and electric motor components. So this sways me to the T5.
However, since I don't have a daily commute and my driving is usually within fairly limited distances, perhaps the PHEV is a better way to go.

I would really appreciate any input from folks who have dealt with this decision dilemma and learning from your thought process.

Thank you for your patience.

Rick

·
Registered
1,046 Posts
Hello

I'm new to Volvo and to this forum so bear with me please. Am in the market for a new compact luxury SUV type vehicle and so far, the ones that rise to the top are the XC60 and BMW X3.
I'm really leaning towards the XC60 based on style, standard features, safety, reviews, etc. However, I keep going back and forth between the T5 or T6 Momentum and the Recharge T8.
As I am retired, the bulk of my driving is for pleasure and performing the usual daily errands within a radius of between 5 and 25 miles. This vehicle would also be used occasionally for longer