SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

It’s been a very long time since I’ve visited here, ever since I sold my 94 850 on here in 2014. As fate would have it, my wife is looking for a newer car than her 2008 Outback. She wants a wagon w AWD but hates how large the outbacks have become. I steered her towards a 2018 V60 T5.

She was in love with everything about it, my problem is I have no knowledge of these newer generation of turbo I-4s that Volvo has been using. I’ve researched some but I can’t find any definitive answer on this generation regarding reliability. I remember the older S60/V70 models having a fragile awd system, or is there any oil consumption or turbo issues? I’d just like to be as informed as possible before pulling the trigger on one.

Also, is the 2019 V60 a res designed model, newer engine or just a mid cycle refresh, I ask because 2018 would be the year to look for since it might be the last year of a model cycle with the fewest problems

Thanks All!

·
Registered
30 Posts
Hello All,

It's been a very long time since I've visited here, ever since I sold my 94 850 on here in 2014. As fate would have it, my wife is looking for a newer car than her 2008 Outback. She wants a wagon w AWD but hates how large the outbacks have become. I steered her towards a 2018 V60 T5.

She was in love with everything about it, my problem is I have no knowledge of these newer generation of turbo I-4s that Volvo has been using. I've researched some but I can't find any definitive answer on this generation regarding reliability. I remember the older S60/V70 models having a fragile awd system, or is there any oil consumption or turbo issues? I'd just like to be as informed as possible before pulling the trigger on one.