SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Getting ready to change the front Rotors and Pads. While I don't want to get the Volvo ones, I also don't want to spend crazy money on performance rotors or pads.

What are my options? I looked at the usual sites and can only find Zimmerman Rotors and Akebono ceramic pads. Is this really the only options we have?

·
Premium Member
86 Posts
I'm new to the Volvo world so i apologize. What's the reason for avoiding oem? Other than cost?

Don't get me wrong, i haven't used oem brake components in my 4runner in 14 years as aftermarket was way better.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
56 Posts
I cannot speak to the Zimmerman rotors as I've always run stock rotors on my BMWs and Volvos. But I've used Akebono ceramic on both. The reduced brake dust is amazing. The only performance difference I see is they have less initial bite than the stock BMW pads. Adjustment was easy, it only took a few applications to get used to it. V90CC hasn't needed either yet but Akebono WILL be the replacement pad choice.

·
Registered
634 Posts
I've been using crossed drilled rotors since the 90s. Stoptech makes good rotors that work well and last at a very reasonable price. Replacement for your OEMs costs only 30-40% more.

My front rotors got replaced under warranty at 17k miles (don't know the reason, previous owner) and my rear pads are about to go. Dealer said I needed to replace pads and ROTORs at the same time...I find that hard to believe. This weekend I'm going to check the thickness of the rotor and make a decision. If I have to, indeed, replace the rotors, I'm going to do all around rotors with Stoptech.

This is the link for your S90 at CarID, check them out: https://www.carid.com/2018-volvo-s90-brakes/

BTW, Zimmerman makes good products, if I remember correctly, they are the ones that make BMW's OEM rotors.

·
Registered
27 Posts