SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At only 100 miles, I am still learning may way through the various menus and switches.

Do I understand correctly:

Moving the transmission to the left switches to a "sport" mode?
Where you can push the gear shift up or down in a semi automatic mode?
Or use the paddles if you prefer?

But otherwise, the power and torque delivery are the same?

The dealer showed me another setting ESC (?) but I couldn't find it this morning and on previous review, was not sure how to set this?

Check or uncheck that box? What does it do?

My preference would be max power and responsiveness all the time regardless of mileage.

Registered
I'm not familiar with exactly how paddles work but I believe they're essentially a more convenient way of shifting manually. Sport mode makes the throttle pedal more edgy and makes the car upshift later in order to always be ready to deliver power. I think it also makes the shifts a bit harsher in favor of shifting speed, at least when you step on the throttle. If you put it into sports mode and then shift manually using the gear lever you're basically taking out of sport mode and into a manual version of Drive with normal throttle mapping.

I believe if you use the paddles in drive it'll only be manual for as long as you're kind of using the paddles and go back into D after a while. Manual on the gear lever is just manual. It'll down/upshift if you go too high or too low but not upshift in the latter (unless you hit the rev limiter, haven't tried revving it that high).