SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to this forum, having recently purchased a 2006 XC90 2.5T with just shy of 100k for my wife. We bought it knowing that the vehicle had a whistling/squealing noise that happened every time you started it cold but went away when it warmed up. I assumed it to be an old sepentine belt that I could handle myself. Well, on top of finding out that there is no printed repair manual for these cars (an unpleasant surprise), I found that the noise actually seems to be coming from somewhere on the driver side of the engine. It sounds like it is on the firewall side, though it's hard to pinpoint. It is only loud during the higher RPM at startup and during acceleration, and it goes away after running for 5-10 minutes. My wife has tasked me with fixing it...or having it fixed if I don't fix it in a timely manner.

I have read about vacuum leaks and oil trap pans that could be the cause. I've cracked the oil cap and pulled the dipstick to see if it went away, and that doesn't seem to be the source, as there is no pressure buildup in the oil pan. I'm having a hard time tracing the sound, and without a repair manual I feel a bit lost. Some direction as to where to look and what to look for would be greatly appreciated.

One note is that a few times while on trips my cruise control has shut off and won't reset until I turn the vehicle off and back on. Is the cruise run by vacuum? Could this be a hint to where there may be a leak?

·
Registered
232 Posts
We get the same sound and I believe it's the turbo. Not sure if it's a normal thing but so far no problems with the car except for the siren sound. I believe the only true fix would be to change the turbo. Anyone else got a solution?

·
Registered
1,961 Posts