SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

(I apologize for how lengthy of a first post this is)

I am new to this board and new to the world of R's! I have been perusing this board for a few months now to learn as much as I can about these cars before I pick one up...I have wanted a V70R for a long time. I finally found one a couple weeks ago and jumped on it. I got a 2006 V70R Black/Nordkap with 81k miles on it. I am located in MN and the car was in Naples FL, I found a local Volvo shop, they went and looked at it and it turned out to be one of their customers car. They vouched for the quality of the car and had all the service records since 2009 including the timing belt, pulley(s), and water pump were just done 3k ago. It is stock except for some aftermarket wheels and a Snaab intake from the air box to the turbo. I thought everything was good...it made the 1800 mile drive home without any issue.

Only Pic I have that I can Post

Then a day after I made it back I was just driving it around town and the idle started surging from 800 up to 1200. I did some research and decided to clean the MAF and the throttle body, even though it has the better Bosch one. That did nothing, in fact it then started to backfire like crazy, I could hear it popping in what sounded like the plastic intake tube. I reset the ETM after cleaning by turning the ignition to II, waiting for the calibration to stop, then turn the ignition off. It also was idling real low, around 500 RPM, almost like it was ready to die, and really chugging. I did some more research and wanted to do some maintenance work anyway, here is what I thought it might be and what I replaced:

-Volvo plugs
-Bosch coils
-Replaced K&N air filter with a Mahle stock one (Not a fan of K&N and the oil)
-Bosch MAF sensor
-Mahle fuel filter