SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys - I noticed a few days ago my engine torque mount on my 2004 V70R with 62K miles was busted (see attached pics):

I called a few places and got quotes ranging from $300 to $500 to replace this ($240 for part, ~$100 for labor). Is this something a non-mechanical guy can do on his own? One place even said that it's not that dangerous and I can drive fine with it as is. It looks like all I have to do is unscrew two bolts and replace the bushing but I'm a total novice and would love some gearhead opinions. Thoughts?

Thanks!

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks - what kinda tools would I need to do this and what holds the engine up while I replace it? Also, how vital is it that I replace it?

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
It is a very simple job. No need to support the engine. You should notice a difference in the smoothness of your shifts.

First remove both these 13 mm bolts on both sides of the strut tower.

Then remove the bolt that goes through the old mount. They are 18mm.

Then remove the two clamps on the charge pipe with a flat head screwdriver.

Then remove the two T25 screws that hold the pipe down.

There are six screws that hold the blue cover on. They are T30.

Then remove the four bolts that hold the upper engine mount the the block. These are 13mm.

To put it back together simply do those directions backwards. A simple install even for a new guy.

·
Registered
3,464 Posts
Thanks - what kinda tools would I need to do this and what holds the engine up while I replace it? Also, how vital is it that I replace it?
You do not need to support the engine just swap them out. But you will need to remove the ote pipe to get to the bolt under the valve cover.

·
Premium Member
8,700 Posts
You have the round mount, you can simply replace the bushing. Much simpler.