SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Newbie here. I posted on Matthews volvo forum also, but only got 1 response. This problem is becoming unsolvable.
2001 c70 2.3l hi pressure coupe with additions of short ram air intake, HD boost controller, silicone turbo hoses, mitsubishi 18t turbo, "R" exhaust manifold, 3" downpipe and TME catback exhaust, stage II IPD ECU flash and suspension modifications.
Over the past month or 2 I`ve noticed a gradual decrease in cold start ease. That is to say, normally, I turn the key, no gas pedal needed, it cranks right up and idles smoothly at 900rpm. But now it idles roughly, stumbles and will cut off if I don`t apply gas. If I keep the revs up above 1500rpm for a minute or two, the problem goes away and the car settles down and idles smoothly. This is only a cold start issue. And it only lasts for up to the first 5 minutes. Otherwise the car runs perfectly. Its very strong. No problems at any other rpm range or at cruise control.
The dealership always blames any problem on the fact that it is a tuner car. So I go to an independent volvo repair shop. This is what we`ve done...after checking the codes....and checking for electrical faults and air leaks, used B&G product to clean the intake system and trottle body, changed the coils, plugs and MAF, found a broken brake booster bleed valve and replaced it...but the cold start problem persists.