SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a new radiator in my 2000R, and I've been calling around shops in Fairbanks, AK to get labor quotes if I provide the parts. One shop told me it would take 5.1 hours, and another told me 6. At $100/hr for labor being pretty much standard around town here, that's a lot of damn money!

This seems like way too much time for a certified mechanic to do this work. Am I right?

At this rate, even though I'm an amateur, I think I'll end up doing it myself.

Any suggestions? Should I reasonably expect to spend well over this amount of time if I'm doing it myself?

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, (but I have been around a while) nor can I tell you how long it will take you to perform the replacement.
But if you feel confident in your mechanical abilities make sure you double your allotted time - as it will take you no less than what a pro quotes you. (usually)
I would continue to shop around if you have more shops available in AK.

As to how long it will take a certified mechanic - if he is good he can do it in way less time.
I will also tell you that most shops (independents or dealerships) will charge you by what is referred to as the book hours.
If the repair manual calls for 6 hours they will charge you for 6 hours period.
If the technician can do it in three he still gets paid for 6 hours (or his percentage).
Most shops pay technicians by piece work, so the better the tech the more jobs he can do in a given work day, hence the more money he and the shop can make.

My advice is do as much research as you can as to what the job will entail, tools required, etc... and if you have a buddy who is a mechanic or really into working on cars go get a 6 pack of his favorite beverage and invite him to help. (Big jobs can call for food in addition to beverages too).

Best of luck with the replacement.

·
Registered
2,701 Posts