The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has double-checked Volvo’s work and found little to criticize. The administration has awarded 11 Volvos its highest rating of 5 stars. 

“Volvo has always been and always will be about people, which means safety is our number one priority,” said Anders Gustafsson, Senior Vice President Americas and President and CEO, Volvo Car USA. “These NHTSA 5-Star ratings confirm Volvo Cars’ continued commitment to protecting what’s important to our customers.”

The cars are the following:
  • 2021 Volvo S60 T5
  • 2021 Volvo S60 T6 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo V60 T5
  • 2021 Volvo XC40 T5 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo V60 T5 AWD Cross Country
  • 2021 Volvo XC40 T4
  • 2021 Volvo XC60 T5 / T5 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC60 T6 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC90 T5 / T5 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC90 T6 AWD
  • 2021 Volvo XC90 Recharge T8 eAWD

Volvo estimates that its safety innovations, which date back to 1959 when it introduced the three-point safety belt, have saved more than one million lives. 

If you’re wondering why the 2021 S90, V90, and V90 Cross Country, and the T8 Recharge plug-in variants of the S60, V60, XC60, and XC40 aren’t on the list, it’s because they haven’t been tested yet.