SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello Ladies and Gentleman. I am new to the Volvo world and would like to delve into the vast knowledge of you good folks. As a warning, this is going to be long, I apologize in advance.

I picked up an 05 S40 T5 AWD for $300 to use as RallyX car. I wasn't looking for a Volvo by any means. But I'm a fan of the older Audi 5 cylinders and thus the Volvo's T5 was intriguing. Price was more than right too. The catch was it had a slipping trans. Which I promptly finished off at the first RallyX event. I've since swapped in a brand used unit, and have now successfully run an event issue free.

I had a blast and was pleasantly surprised at it's overall performance. Finishing 4th out of 12 in stock class with essentially no seat time or familiarity of the car.

So. Thus leads to my two main set backs of the car and my questions:

-Stock height -

It has a woeful amount of clearance, especially at the front. At the last event the ground was soft and quickly rutted. I intend to install a skid plate, but the high centering was affecting traction.

Before I start into fabbing something. Are there any quality metal skid plates available?

I see that there are strut spacers available for the front. What is the proper size spacer to level the car?

I intend to go up in tire size as much as possible. What's the max (sidewall) that will fit in oem 16's with the spacers installed? 205/70r16?

Is there any way to lift the car all around? Perhaps via a suspension off a Volvo SUV?

-Haldex-

While this performed way better than I was expecting, I would prefer constant awd. Also, the ability to disengage the ABS is rather essential.