SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! I'm new to volvo. I just picked up a 2001 s60 from a used car lot! I am highly impressed with it. It has 175k miles on it. There are a few things i have concerns about that if i could have help with, would be much appreciated. I will take it to a mechanic for them to do an inspection on it later this week, but i want to know what i should tell him to focus on.

1) When I switch to reverse and turn in a direction, there is a pop sound that comes from the front end somewhere. When i go over speed bumps, the suspension seems oddly loud as well. What could this be? How important is getting it fixed?

2)My headlight knob on the left side does not work. it has worked once, but that was it. when i press the fog lamp button, the light does not come on on the button and the switch to change headlight mode does not alter anything. center console music screen also does not illuminate.

3) The ABS brake system is on. when i depress the brakes, the exclamation point light illuminates. the car stops fine. the wheels do not lock up (no matter how hard i can try). What may this be? scan tool says there is nothing wrong.

Thank you guys for any help!

·
Registered
27 Posts
1) I don't think the pop sound is an issue. I have the same sound on mine and it hasn't caused any problems. As for the suspension, it seems every Volvo owner has issues with suspension. You might have to replace the front struts and/or sway bar end links. Does it sound like a heavy clunking sound?

2) Typically you have to have the switch in the top vertical position, then press the fog light button. Do the actual fog lights come on at all or is it just the interior indicator light that isn't working? Start with checking the fuses.

3) Might be a wheel sensor. If so, ignore.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
1) Does it sound like a heavy clunking sound?