For the Volvo Enthusiast

Scott McLaughlin Seeks Redemption at Gold Coast

Scott McLaughlin heads to the Gold Coast 600 race this weekend seeking redemption after the Bathurst 1000 race where he lost a strong position after a wall visit.
”Gold Coast is one of my favourite events, it is really demanding and hard for the cars. Coming off some great speed at Bathurst, I am looking forward to seek redemption and making up to my team after the mistake I made at Bathurst,” said McLaughlin.

This year features the 20th anniversary of V8 Supercars on the Gold Coast, a demanding street circuit held in Surfers Paradise, Australia.
”I have looked at onboard footage from the track and it looks unbelievable. It is going to be awesome to learn this track and my aim is to get a top ten finish this weekend,” said Robert Dahlgren.

Co-driver Alexandre Prémat put in a solid effort in the Bathurst 1000 race two weeks ago and hopes to continue on the strong speed together with McLaughlin this weekend.
”I am confident of a strong result this weekend, especially after the speed we showed at Bathurst,” said Prémat.

Dahlgren’s co-driver Greg Ritter is just as teammates McLaughlin and Prémat hoping to build on the positive parts from the previous races this weekend.
”We made a lot of progress at Bathurst with the car and I am hoping that we can capitalise on that this weekend,” said Ritter.

The Gold Coast 600 weekend starts on Friday with practice, continues with qualifying and the first race of 300 kilometres on Saturday, with the second and final qualifying and race finishing off the race weekend on Sunday.

Gold Coast 600 – V8 Supercars

Circuit: Surfers Paradise Street Circuit
Length: 2980 m
Lap record (V8SC): 1:10.0851, Will Davison, 2011

(Times in UTC +10H)

Friday 24/10
09:35 Practice 1 (30 min)
11:55 Practice 2 (30 min – co-drivers)
13:40 Practice 3 (30 min – co-drivers)
15:30 Practice 4 (30 min)

Saturday 25/10
11:35 Qualifying (20 min)
12:40 Top 10 Shootout (30 min)
14:40 Race 31 (102 laps)

Sunday 26/10
11:25 Qualifying (20 min)
13:55 Race 32 (102 laps)

TV Coverage

Web stream:

Championship positions – Top 10
(30/38 races)

1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore 2547 points
2 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon 2250 (-297)
3 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore 2208 (-339)
4 Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore 2096 (-451)
5 James Courtney Holden Commodore 2096 (-451)
6 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore 2024 (-523)
7 Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon 1994 (-553)
8 Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1785 (-762)
9 Garth Tander Holden Commodore 1662 (-885)
10 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1542 (-1005)

25 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 663 (-1884)